April 25, 2024, 01:01:52 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: WILD BOAR USA....FOR ALL YOUR HOG HUNTING NEEDS

Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 3   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Hog with no ears  (Read 5853 times)
lambert14
Bay Dog

View Profile
« on: August 05, 2014, 02:26:14 pm »

So I have a question. I am new to this sport so just curious. Why would anyone bar a hog and cut both ears off? I almost lost my two best dogs due to this incident. Went to a new place and struck a hog. Went 680 yards and start running in and hear a loud yelp. Cut bull dogs loose around 120 yards and then hell breaks loose. The two bull dogs caught him run to bay and notice a few dogs missing that are usually there. Here landowner yell this black dog is not going to make it. Get pig hobbled and look around and my two best dogs are cut pretty bad. Look at the boar and notice no ears and barred. He only weighed 205 but had some nice cutters. Ended up saving both dogs. But my question is why do people do this?
BA-IV
Hog Doom

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: August 05, 2014, 03:38:01 pm »

Some people feel like this is a good way to cut the competition down, especially when they run loose bay dogs. I would think it would be directed towards the guys that may be slipping in on places they have no right to be hunting.

Them no earred Barr hogs are a double edged sword, they're bad on everyone's dogs including the person doing the cutting.
Jmesonp1
Strike Dog

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: August 05, 2014, 04:07:06 pm »

If the hogs ears were in poor condition when he was turned loose then infection could have been the reason for loosing his ears. Even people with loose bay dogs have to catch the pig again. I cant see anyone actually wanting an earless barr in the woods, but people do strange things.
BA-IV
Hog Doom

View Profile
« Reply #3 on: August 05, 2014, 04:10:30 pm »